Dressing Up Cobb Salad For the Night

What I love about cobb salad is that you can combine the healthy with the salty.  I know it can sound like someone ordering a diet coke with their double cheeseburger combo, but it’s still a meal that won’t make your mouth feel greasy or your stomach too full.  You can simply weave in small doses of greasy goods and have the best of both worlds.  I made cobb salads two nights in a row; we ate once before the gym, the next night was after yoga.  Perfect meal to keep feeling good from your workout or a meal you don’t have to wait hours to settle before any rigorous activity.  I varied it up each time.

  The first one was watercress that was tossed in a balsamic    vinaigrette.Topped with chopped with hard boiled egg, chopped  avocado, chopped bacon i cooked prior, chopped tomato, shredded cheddar, and chopped cooked skinless chicken.

I’m not the biggest salad person when I’m hungry but I have surprised myself with how full i get from these salads and how satisfied my taste buds are with the medley of flavors, both light and salty.  It’s also an array of textures from the juicy texture of the tomato to the crispiness of the bacon and then the soft tenderness of the chicken and egg.

Exhibit B was slightly different: Watercress tossed in balsamic vinaigrette, blue cheese crumbles, alfalfa sprouts, chopped cooked bacon, chopped hard boiled eggs, chopped tomato, chopped cooked chicken, and shredded cheddar.

Possibilities are endless here.  I’m thinking of doing a seafood version.  As much as I love seafood, I can’t imagine I would dislike it.  I’m thinking crab and BBQ shrimp to replace the meats.  Probably with a creamy dressing.  And I’m hungry *sigh*

Leave a Reply

