Cracker Barrel- Old Country Restaurant & Store

Everyone in the South seemed shocked whenever they heard I had never been to this old school establishment.  I saw these scattered around the south like IHOPS back in the west.  It does feel country when you walk up to Cracker Barrel and see old chairs and tables on their very long porch.  You have to walk in through the gift shop to get to the restaurant (clever).  In the store, there’s charming country items for the garden, kitchen, and belly.  This includes some of their food items on the menu.

Grandpa's Country Fried Breakfast® Two Eggs* cooked to order with Grits, Sawmill Gravy and Homemade Buttermilk Biscuits along with real Butter and the best Preserves, Jam n' Apple Butter available. Served with your choice of Fried Apples or Hashbrown Casserole and Chicken Fried Chicken or Country Fried Steak.

 

Eggs cooked perfect and the chicken was as tender as could be. I entertained myself with the old peg game (top right corner of picture) while I waited for my food. I bought a jar of apple butter for a friend back home and treated myself to a tin box of their barrel mints 🙂

I definitely need to go back for lunch and try their other specialties that consist of Catfish and Chicken N’ Dumplings.

Cracker Barrel

Leave a Reply

